State seal of the State of Vermont
The State of Vermont
The Office of the Attorney General




Paid Fundraisers

News

Home » Issues » Consumer Protection » Charities/Paid Fundraisers » Paid Fundraisers

Paid Fundraisers

Notice from Vermont Attorney General – 6/10/13

Pursuant to Act 72, effective July 1, 2013, the State of Vermont requires all paid fundraisers that solicit donations in Vermont on behalf of a charitable organization to pay an annual registration fee of $500 with its first notice of solicitation as well as a solicitation fee of $200 with the first and every subsequent notice. The Notice of Solicitation forms will be amended effective July 1 to reflect these changes.

Consequently, for any new notice of solicitation or any continuation certificate filed in any calendar year, a paid fundraiser must pay $700 with the first filing, and $200 with any subsequent filing. (Thus, a paid fundraiser must submit $700 for the first filing and $200 for any subsequent filing made between July 1 and December 31, 2013, and the same for filings between January 1 and December 31, 2014, and subsequent years. The Legislature did not provide for partial payment of a registration fee filed between July 1 and December 31, 2013, as it has with other legislation.)

To submit your payment by bank transfer, please contact our office at: paidfundraiser@atg.state.vt.us with “transfer information” in subject line. Bank information will be provided. In order to maximize efficiency, we ask that you notify our office at the above email upon completion of the bank transfer. Please put “bank transfer” in the subject line and indicate the date and amount sent, and sending bank.

Alternatively, payments may be made by sending a check payable to State of Vermont via first class mail to:

Office of Attorney General
Public Protection Division
Paid Fundraiser Administrator
109 State St.
Montpelier VT 05609-1001

If you have questions or concerns, please contact our office at: paidfundraiser@atg.state.vt.us

Under Vermont’s Charitable Solicitations Law, 9 V.S.A. § 2471 et seq., paid fundraisers for charities must:

  • Create an Account for first time users of the electronic filing system,
  • File a "Notice of Solicitation" with the Attorney General's Office in advance of each campaign,
  • Post a $20,000 bond,
  • File annual and post campaign financial reports,
  • Make specific disclosures when soliciting donations,
  • Comply with charity contract, script approval, donation deposit, record-keeping and other requirements, and
  • Refrain from making misrepresentations to prospective donors.

The Attorney General's Office is responsible for enforcing the Law.

For more information on these requirements and prohibitions, consult the Vermont’s Charitable Solicitations Law and Consumer Fraud Rule (CF) 119.

Electronic Reporting

All reporting to the Attorney General's Office is only accepted electronically.

Email: paidfundraiser@atg.state.vt.us with any questions or problems.

Documents (sample forms)

Paid Fundraising Form - Notice of Charitable Solicitation

Paid Fundraising Form - Financial Report

  Website consulting provided by The National Association of Attorneys General.